The singles entry list of the Rio Open presented by Claro was released on Tuesday by the ATP. The biggest tennis tournament in South America will have four top 20 players: Australian Dominic Thiem (World No.8), Italians Fabio Fognini (13) and Marco Cecchinato (18) and the Argentinian Diego Schwartzman (19), the defending champion. Tickets for the event, that takes place at the Jockey Club Brasileiro from February 16th to the 24th, are currently on sale at

Thiem will try to win his second Rio Open title, as well as Schwartzman. Runner-up in 2015, Fognini is the player with most wins in the history of the tournament and Cecchinato returns after the biggest year of his career, when he defeated Novak Djokovic in the quarterfinals of Roland Garros and played in his first Grand Slam semifinal. Last week, he reached the semifinals of Doha. 

Finalists in 2016, Uruguayan Pablo Cuevas and Argentinian Guido Pella come back in 2019, as well as other players with great past results in Rio, such as Pablo Carreno Busta, Nicolas Jarry and Casper Ruud.

With nine players among the world’s top 50, the line-up also has players who will make their debut in Rio. For instance, Spaniard Jaume Munar, 21, who practices at the Rafael Nadal Academy in Mallorca. He is the 74th best ranked player in the world, months after reaching the semifinals of the NextGen Finals. German Maximilian Marterer, World No.70, and Serbian Laslo Djere, 91th, are also set to debut, alongside veteran Malek Jaziri.

In case of withdrawal from some players, the first five alternates are British Cameron Norrie, Portuguese Pedro Sousa, Italians Lorenzo Sonego and Paolo Lorenzi and Canadian Felix Auger-Aliassime, the youngest player ever to win a main draw Challenger match when he was 14 years old.

The first wild card went to Brazilian youngster Thiago Wild, winner of the the Maria Esther Bueno Cup, a under-23 tournament played by Brazilians, and the current US Open juniors champion. There are still open spots for the qualifying (4), three wild cards and one special exempt.

Rio Open singles entry list:

Dominic Thiem (AUT) – 8

Fabio Fognini (ITA) – 13

Marco Cecchinato (ITA) – 18

Diego Schwartzman (ARG) – 19

Pablo Carreño Busta (ESP) – 24

Malek Jaziri (TUN) – 42

Nicolas Jarry (CHI) – 43

João Sousa (POR) – 44

Dusan Lajovic (SER) – 45

Leonardo Mayer (ARG) – 54

Albert Ramos-Viñolas (ESP) – 65

Guido Pella (ARG) – 66

Aljaz Bedene (ESV) – 67

Maximilian Marterer (ALE) – 70

Roberto Carballes Baena (ESP) – 73

Jaume Munar (ESP) – 74

Federico Delbonis (ARG) – 77

Taro Daniel (JAP) – 78

Guido Andreozzi (ARG) – 80

Pablo Andujar (ESP) – 82

Christian Garin (CHI) – 86

Pablo Cuevas (URU) – 90

Laslo Djere (SER) – 91

(WC) Thiago Wild (BRA) – 447



Cameron Norrie (GBR) – 93

Pedro Sousa (POR) – 103

Lorenzo Sonego (ITA) – 104

Felix Auger Aliassime (CAN) – 106

Paolo Lorenzi (ITA) – 109

Share this post on: